top of page

My other Passion (Part 1)

So, I mentioned my 'other' passion last blog, well, here is the backstory...


According to my high school Art teacher, I excelled at art. Whilst pleasing to hear I was good at something, I did not value it as a means to one day create an income, therefore shelving the love. It did try to prise its way back into my life several times during boring times in the workplace doing portraits of co-workers, in crafty phases making and selling items at the local markets, running the kids playgroup art sessions and trying my hand at watercolour painting at a local class, but something always held me back.


It wasn't until I completed a unit of study, as part of my Bachelor of Education Early Childhood degree course, that it raised its head again. The unit involved the hands on creation of art in a variety of mediums whilst documenting the set up, learning purpose and curriculum links for each. I was A L I V E throughout the whole study period, but still shelved it a little while longer.


In comes a chance discovery that my dear neighbour and friend, a talented artist in her own right, regularly draws, sketches and paints just for fun! Intruiged, I went out and bought my own visual diary a few years ago and dabbled with a few entries here and there, but again the pen and paper was packed away, reserved only for holidays or free time. Almost as if a guilty pleasure., the commitments to being a parent, working to pay the mortgage and studying I could not justify to myself spending time drawing.


Please, check back in, next blog for Part 2.

Personal photo, South Beach, South Fremantle

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
No tags yet.
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page